Things I Miss about Library School–and What I’m Doing About It!

Things I Miss about Library School–and What I’m Doing About It!

This is so funny because I realized that I was doing this just the other day! I graduated about a year and a half ago and it recently dawned on me that I was filling up my time with things that I used to do all the time during grad school: I read about libraries (journals and online), I talk to others about libraries (mostly through twitter and listserv) and I write about libraries (on my blog). Guess I am hooked. 🙂 Great post!

hls

keep-calm-and-keep-growing-1Since I graduated from North Carolina Central University with a Masters in Library Science last December, I’ve had about five months (where does the time go?) to catch up some on R & R, time with family and friends, pleasure reading, and some television shows. I’ve enjoyed a beach vacation and three conferences (ALA Midwinter, the North Carolina Serials Conference, and ACRL) without juggling homework and class lectures, which has been really nice! I was surprised to realize, though, that there are some things about library school that I really miss. Here are a few of them, and what I’m doing about it:

  • Learning new things every semester: While working on my MLS, each semester & summer session, I registered for new classes, had assignments with deadlines, and enjoyed the weekly discussions with classmates and professors. It was great to have a schedule with deadlines throughout the semester to…

View original post 555 more words

Leave a Reply

