North Woods Girl by Aimee Bissonette

North Woods Girl by Aimee Bissonette

North Woods GirlNorth Woods Girl by Aimee Bissonette

My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I could hear their boots crunching in the snow as this little girl tells of her unconventional grandmother’s house in the woods and their adventures together. Having had a rough-tough unconventional grandmother myself, I appreciated their relationship together. The young girl, being from the city, was exposed to nature and given an appreciate for the outdoors by her north woods grandmother.

The woodcut illustrations add to the woodsy feel of the book. I wish the physical appearance of the grandmother (“not being a good-looking woman”) wouldn’t have found its way into the narrative. Her unconventional dress and lifestyle are conveyed through the text and illustration. It just didn’t seem relevant. Other than that, I found this to be a sweet and beautiful book.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

