#PictureBook Review: Yard Sale by Eve Bunting

#PictureBook Review: Yard Sale by Eve Bunting

Yard SaleYard Sale by Eve Bunting
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

Publisher: Candlewick Press

picture book

This is a sweet little story about a little girl and her parents who are having to move out of their two story house into a small apartment. We don’t ever get more details but it seems to be because they can no longer afford to live there. They are having a yard sale to get rid of as many of their things as possible for the move.

The little girl sees her parents getting haggled for prices on her toddler bed which must have great sentimental value. The woman doesn’t want to pay $10 for it because there are red crayon marks on it. The marks were for how many times the little girl read Goodnight Moon. The woman only offers $5 and her mother takes it.

It is quite painful watching them part with all of their possessions. Towards the end of the sale, the father announces that anything left is free. People scramble about taking the rest of it and leaving the little family in an empty home. They all hold each other and realize that they don’t need this stuff anyway. What they need and want is each other.

I have to say that I read this just after helping my own mother have a garage sale to get rid of her stuff before moving out of the house I grew up in. I remember hearing her try to persuade strangers that her possessions had value enough to buy from her and it made me incredibly sad. You could see in their eyes or hear in their voice that they only thought some of it was junk. So this book touched me very deeply. As I read it to my two children, I couldn’t help but cry. I couldn’t help but wonder what caused them to have to downsize but the sentiment is sweet. All that really matters is that we are together.

Lauren Castillo’s illustrations are also beautiful and touching.

This would be a good book for a young reader having to go through a major transition in life, even if it isn’t moving or downsizing. I would recommend this title for purchase for a public library collection.

View all my reviews

One thought on “#PictureBook Review: Yard Sale by Eve Bunting

Leave a Reply

