#PictureBook Review: Dino-Basketball by Lisa Wheeler

#PictureBook Review: Dino-Basketball by Lisa Wheeler

Dino-BasketballDino-Basketball by Lisa Wheeler

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

Published: 2011

I have to say that I am a little surprised at how much I enjoyed this book. I guess I was thinking it was going to be playing heavily to “boys who love sports and dinosaurs because duh they are boys”. Instead, I was pretty impressed with how this book handled gender. There are dino cheerleaders but several of them are wearing pants. Several if not most of the dinosaurs playing basketball are referred to as “she”. We enjoyed pointing out the Allosaurus and other favorites on each page. The text is simple rhyme and basically gives play-by-play of the game. Fun… and apparently somewhat progressive!

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

